

University Graduate School 2009-2010 Academic Bulletin

School of Education

Bloomington and Indianapolis

Dean

Professor Gerardo M. González*

Associate Dean for Graduate Studies

Professor Mary B. McMullen*

Departmental E-mail

educate@indiana.edu

Departmental URL

http://site.educ.indiana.edu

Departmental Phone Number

(812) 856-8504

Graduate Faculty

(An asterisk [*] denotes membership in the University Graduate School faculty with the endorsement to direct doctoral dissertations.)

Chancellor's Professors

Robert Arnove* (Emeritus), Roger Farr* (Emeritus), George D. Kuh*, Frank Lester* (Emeritus), Martha McCarthy*, Rex A. Stockton*

Armstrong Chairs

Jerome Harste* (Emeritus; 1999–2005), Frank Lester* (Emeritus; 2000–2005), Diana Lambdin* (2005–2010)

Jacobs Chair

Thomas Duffy* (1998–2000), Donald Cunningham* (Emeritus; 2000–2005), Sasha Barab*

Otting Chair

Erna Alant*

Rudy Professor of Learning Sciences

Richard Arthur Lesh*

Professors

Joyce Alexander*, Trudy Banta* (I), Charles Barman* (I), Keith Barton*, Barbara Bichelmeyer*, Curtis Bonk*, Marilynne Boyle-Baise*, Catherine Brown*, Thomas Brush*, Barry Bull*, Cary

University Graduate School
Kirkwood Hall 111
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN 47405
(812) 855-8853

Contact: grdschl@indiana.edu

Graduate Office Union Building 207 Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis Indianapolis, IN 46202 (317) 274-1577

Contact: gradoff@iupui.edu

Buzzelli*, Phil Carspecken*, Judith Chafel*, Nancy Chism* (I), Gary Crow*, Jack Cummings*, Ginette Delandshere*, David Flinders*, Gerardo M. González*, Jesse Goodman*, Don Hossler*, Thomas Huberty*, Peter Kloosterman*, Christine Leland* (I), Mitzi Lewison*, David Mank*, Terrence Mason*, Mary McMullen*, Larry Mikulecky*, D. Keith Morran* (I), Chao-Ying Joanne Peng*, James Pershing*, Jonathan Plucker*, Charles Reigeluth*, Patricia Rogan* (I), Jose Rosario* (I), Heidi Ross*, Thomas Sexton*, Robert Sherwood*, Martin Siegel*, Russell Skiba*, Neil Theobald*, Susan Whiston*

Associate Professors

Valarie Akerson*, Jeffrey Anderson*, John Bean*, Beth Berghoff* (I), Jacqueline Blackwell* (I), Elizabeth Boling*, Gayle Buck*, Gretchen Digman Butera*, H. Gerald Campano*, Stephanie Carter*, Barbara Dennis*, Suzanne Eckes, David Estell*, Mary Fisher* (I), Theodore Frick*, Enrique Galindo*, Ken Hay*, Dan Hickey*, Mary Beth Hines*, Signe Kastberg* (I), Robert Kunzman*, Lara Lackey*, Bradley Levinson*, Gerardo Lopez*, Marjorie Cohee Manifold, Luise Prior McCarty*, Alex McCormick*, Anastasia Morrone*, Khaula H. Murtadha* (I), Jomo Mutegi (I), Martha Nyikos*, Theresa Ochoa* Faridah Pawan*, Douglas Priest*, Rebecca Martinez Reid*, Floyd Robison* (I), Anne Dopkins Stright*, Margaret Sutton*, Annela Teemant (I), Chalmer Thompson* (I), Vasti Torres*, Michael Tracy*, Elizabeth Vallance*, Andrea Walton*

Assistant Professors

Donna Adomat, Samantha Bartholomew (I), Hsu-Min Chiang, Yonjoo Cho, Serafin Coronel-Molina*, Peter Cowan, Dionne Cross, James Damico*, Joshua Danish, Dionne Danns, Ryan Flessner (I), Melissa Gresalfi, D. Ted Hall, Ray Haynes, Robert Helfenbein Jr. (I), Crystal Hill (I), Robin Hughes (I), Thomas Nelson Laird*, Anne Leftwich, Adam Maltese, Sylvia Martinez, Meredith Park-Rogers, Kylie Peppler, Beth Samuelson, Hannah Schertz, Dwight Schuster (I), M. Najeeb Shafiq, Joshua Smith (I), W. Raymond Smith, Jesse Steinfeldt, Jane Stephenson (I), Erik Tillema (I), Ellen Vaughan, Crystal Walcott (C), Mary Waldron, Karen Wohlwend, Y. Joel Wong, Elizabeth Wood (I), Tarajean Yazzie-Mintz

Full Clinical Faculty

Robert Appelman, Laura Stachowski

Associate Clinical Faculty

Keith Chapin, Carole-Anne Hossler

Assistant Clinical Faculty

Kate Baird (C), Carrie Chapman, Danielle DeSawal, Barbara Erwin, Ilknur Kelceoglu (C), Melissa Keller, Paula Magee (I), Aija Pocock (C), Jador Sailes, Joy Seybold (I), Deborah Winikates (C)

Emeriti

Anita Aldrich*, Hans Andersen*, Jean Anderson*, Robert Arnove*, Christine Bennett*, Harbans Bhola*, Ellen Brantlinger*, Laurence Brown*, Edward Buffie*, Leonard Burrello*, Ledford Carter, Michael Chiappetta*, Gilbert Clark*, Donald Cunningham*, Ivor Davies*, Richard Dever*, Merle Draper*, Earl Dvorak*, Lee Ehman*, Susan Eklund*, Meryl Englander*, Gene Faris*, Albert Fink*, Malcolm Fleming*, Thomas D. Froehle*, Dorothy Gabel*, Robert Gibson*, Richard Gousha*, Thomas Gregory*, Samuel Guskin*, Dale Hall, Robert Harris*, Robert Heinich*, Ernest Horn*, Gary Ingersoll*, Edward Jenkinson*, Alice Jwaideh*, Susan Klein*, Dennis Knapczyk*, DeWayne Kurpius*, John LeBlanc*, William Lynch*, George Maccia*, James Mahan*, Gerald Marker*, Milton Marten*, Edward McClellan*, Jerry McIntosh*, John McKinley*, Howard Mehlinger*, Marianne Mitchell*, Michael Molenda*, Daniel Mueller*, Charlie Nelms, Anabel Newman*, Anna Ochoa*, Norman Overly*, Vernon Pace*, John Patrick*, Lewis Polsgrove*, Joan Prentice*, Gerald Preusz (I), Sharon Pugh*, Edward Robbins (I), Dale Scannell, Thomas Schwen*, Myrtle Scott*, Robert Shaffer*, Mendel Sherman, Carmen Simich-Dudgeon, Carl Smith*, Frederick Smith*, Gerald Smith*, Vernon Smith*, Josephine Spear*, Elizabeth Steiner*, James Walden*, Donald Warren*, James Weigand*, Barbara Wilcox (I), Barbara Wolf*, Hugh Wolf (I), Leslie Wood (I), Virginia Woodward*, Enid Zimmerman*

(I) after a faculty member's name indicates that the person teaches at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis; (C) at Indiana University-Purdue University Columbus.

Degree Offered

The Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) degree is offered through the University Graduate School. In addition, the School of Education offers the Master of Science (M.S.) in Education, the Specialist in Education (Ed.S.), and the Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) degrees. (See the School of Education Graduate Program Bulletin.)

Doctor of Philosophy Degree

Fields of Study

Counseling psychology; curriculum and instruction; learning and developmental sciences; higher education; history, philosophy and policy studies in education; inquiry methodology; instructional systems technology; language education; and special education.

Program of Studies

The Ph.D. degree with a major in education is pursued under the direction of a committee appointed by the University Graduate School and the School of Education. As with other Graduate School doctoral programs, a minimum of 90 credit hours of course work is required. This includes a major (selected from the fields of study listed previously), a minor, a series of research courses, and a dissertation. Written and oral qualifying examinations are taken following course work; a final oral defense of the dissertation research completes the program. Up to 30 credit hours of graduate course work may be transferred from other universities, with the approval of the advisory committee.

Admission

Admission recommendations are made by program area and School of Education admission committees and are based on graduate and undergraduate grades (especially in academic courses), scores on the General Test of the Graduate Record Examination (GRE), and letters of recommendation. The TOEFL examination is required for all international applicants. Online applications may be accessed through the School of Education Office of Graduate Studies Web site at http://www.indiana.edu/~grdschl/admissions.php

Students earning a Ph.D. degree in education must fulfill all requirements of the University Graduate School (as found in this bulletin) and of the School of Education (as found in the School of Education Graduate Program Bulletin).